A Bible Impulse

Recently, I was meeting with a group of folks and someone was sharing an issue in their life. Several people in the group offered counsel, and I was about to recommend a book I had read that I though might help. It’s a really good book, one of the best I’ve ever read, definitely worth reading.

But before I said anything, another person spoke up and began to encourage this person with Scripture: verses and stories I would never in a million years have thought about. It convicted me, because my first impulse was, “Hey, you should read X, Y, or Z book written by C, D, or E author.” My impulse was not toward Scripture. I wish that it had been.

What is your first impulse? To quote a theologian, a blog, a book, an author, a commentary, an “expert”? To recommend this or that resource? Or is it to draw people to Scripture?

By God’s grace, I want that to be my first impulse.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Bible Impulse

  1. Great reminder, Danny. Thanks. It’s true we tend to run to the doughnut shop rather than to the steakhouse.

Leave a Reply

