Worth Praying For

Last week, David Platt tweeted:

Would you ask the Lord to use you to lead someone to faith in Jesus this year? Let’s be disciples who make disciples.

I felt convicted about this last year while reading Letters from a Servant Leader by Jack Miller. In the book Miller mentions a man who could not point to one person who had come to faith in Christ in his 20 years of ministry. That terrified me, and I began to pray. I know God has used my teaching and preaching, but I could not point to one person who I could tell had been converted unmistakably through my ministry. Heart-breaking, and, like I said, terrifying.

So I prayed that by Easter 2011, at least one person would come to Christ.

God answered. On April 24, 2011, Jorge Lithgow, an awesome young man, marked on his connection card that he had made a decision to trust Jesus for the very first time. Over the next months, Jorge was discipled by some of the other young men in our church, along with having several conversations with me. In August, I baptized Jorge.

That’s just one story, and more by God’s grace have followed: people moving from nominal Christianity to fully devoted Christ-followership. Since July 2011, we have baptized nine people, more than double what our church had baptized in the previous two years combined.

Pray that God will use you. He delights to move sinners from darkness to light, and he delights to use me—and you–to do it.

Let’s pray big this year, by God’s grace and for his glory.

Who are you praying for? If no one right now, will you commit to pray this year? 

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

