God Will Fulfill His Purpose for Me

“The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me” (Psalm 138:8).

Thoughts:

  1. It is Yahweh’s job to fulfill his purpose for me. It’s in his hands. Phil 1:6. No one can stop it. It’s a freight train of divine sovereignty that is humanly incapable of being stopped.
  2. The tense is future. It will happen. Maybe it hasn’t happened yet, but it’s going to.
  3. The purpose is his, not mine. Finding my destiny is actually his destiny, defined by him and not by me. I wrote this syllogism awhile back, when I was getting depressed about myself:
    1. God has designed me for his purposes for me.
    2. His purposes for me are for him — his glory
    3. Therefore, dissatisfaction with who I am and his purposes for me must be rooted in pride and desire for my glory in his purposes for me
  4. It’s personal. Well, let’s back up. It is originally King David saying this. God did it with him. Made him king and kept him king, all through the junk of assaults from outside (Saul, his own son) and inside (his adulterous heart). But the promise then looks forward to the Greater Son of David, Jesus the Christ. God fulfilled his purpose for Christ. Every jot and tittle. Done. Now, then, by faith in Christ, I am united to Christ, and, in Christ, I am assured of God’s ability to fulfill his purpose for me. It is personal. God has specifically designed me for specific purposes, and that is enough.
About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Will Fulfill His Purpose for Me

  1. Craig Di Leo says:

    This is the best foundation of truth ever.

  2. Mom says:

    well said…sharing this a woman I’m meeting with tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

