“When I Stumble in the Darkness…”

I borrowed Laura’s Accord recently, and found an old-school Third Day CD in the disc changer.

Finding the oldish-school song, “God of Wonders”, I was pushed back to singing it for the first time as a college leader at a Middle School camp.

With the sunroof open, I sang my heart out:

God of wonders, beyond our galaxy,
You are holy, holy.
The universe declares your majesty;
You are holy, holy.

The next verse sprung into my mind: When I stumble in the darkness, I will call your name by night; and a thought sprung in with it: “It must be easy to be God. Perfect. He has never had to stumble in the darkness, blind, and wondering.” Slight resentment leaked from my heart as I worshiped. “God has it easy. It’s hard to be a limited, fallen human. Waiting and wondering. It isn’t fair. He doesn’t know what it’s like to be a frail, limited huma–”

But! It knocked the self-important wind out of my sunroof-ballooned sails.
But he does!
He knows exactly what it’s like.
From above and below. The eternal, changeless Godhead, Father, Son, and Spirit, has experienced the darkness of humanity. He subjected himself to it, willingly, when he didn’t have to.

Jesus called on God by night, but not by name.
He called only, “God” not “Father”, because the darkness dwelt on him too thickly.
He got no answer. Only darkness.

Love pushed the Father’s Son from heaven, from light, into darkness.

He knows exactly what it’s like, without seeing stars, or feeling the breeze through the windows, or hearing worship-music-on-demand.

And, so, he gently rebuked me, drying up some of the blasphemy leaking from my near-sighted heart.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

