Trusting the Author

I recently finished reading The Song of Albion trilogy, by Stephen R. Lawhead. It is a phenomenal story, in the vein of Tolkien, soaked with subtle Christian themes, but not in a heavy-handed, cheesy way.

When I finished The Endless Knot, the third of the three, I was disappointed. The ending was well-written, and it made sense. It fit. But I still felt a helpless sense of, “This is how the story ends.” I can’t change the ending. I’m not the author. I kept wishing that Lawhead would have written the ending differently. (I am probably in the minority here, by the way.) I kept thinking, “I am at the mercy of the author’s decision on how he wrote the story.”

It’s not my story, and I can’t change how it ends.

Then, while the story was rolling over in my mind (it’s the kind of story that “sticks” with you awhile), I thought of something my brother-in-law Justin said about the TV series Lost. He said, basically, “I’m going to trust the writers of the story, that they know what they’re doing.”

The obvious spiritual connections jump out here. In Scripture and in history, God has crafted and is crafting a Story. He is the author of The Story of Creation-Fall-Redemption-New Creation, centered in the person and work of his Son, Jesus Christ. Here are a few thoughts on God as Author:

God is the author, and he gets to say how the story goes. He is sovereign, “in control”, and we are totally at the mercy of his story-making decisions. We are “stuck” with his ending.

God is a good and perfect author. No man writes a perfect story, or a perfect ending. A human author limits himself by his own inherent limitations as a finite and fallen man. But God’s story is written perfectly, and it will end perfectly. God is also good, so he writes a good story with a good ending. The story God writes always falls in line with his good and perfect character.

We can trust God the author. When we look at the story God is writing in time and history, the Story of his Son, who is coming to put all things right and “finish the trilogy”, we can fall on the knees of our hearts and trust him. He is good. He is perfect.

And, so, I am grateful that The Song of Albion trilogy, among other things, has moved me to trust and to worship.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

