Urban Ministry

For Christmas, Laura got me some nice dress shirts with a French cuff (the kind that needs cuff links). On Sunday, I wore one of them with my grandpa’s old-English script “S” (for Slavich, if you didn’t get that) cuff links.

That morning I tweeted:

I’m wearing my grandpa’s cuff links this morning. From Bank of America in NorCal to urban ministry in SoFlo.

***

PRBC hosted a hip-hop concert on Friday night. It was awesome. Almost 200 people showed up. Toward the end of the show, someone asked me, “So when you were going to Southern, did you think God would be calling you to urban ministry in South Florida?”

Honestly, I told him (and you): No. Where God has me is a lot different than where I thought I’d be.

I used to think that I grew up in a diverse area. But stepping back I realize that where I grew up was really white and really rich. I had been on mission trips and I knew the “rest of the world” lived very differently than I did. But I associated “America” with my context,  a suburb of Silicon Valley where everyone was working a six-figure technology job. Now, I’m in a middle- to lower-income urbanized community, where the demographics break down to anywhere between 30%-60% Black, 30%-50% Hispanic, and 30%-50% White, depending on the block.

My grandpa would have been surprised. I am surprised, and I am grateful.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Urban Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Urban Ministry

  1. Dad says:

    …and I am proud. God is good and is showing all of us the breadth of His reach.

Leave a Reply

