It’s Almost Like the Sabbath was Made for Man, or something…

A Harvard study recently came out, saying that regular, predictable time off increases productivity. Sue Shellenbarger of the Wall Street Journal writes:

“It was 4 p.m. on a recent Friday—a time of the week when I usually relax and leave the rest of my to-do list to finish over the weekend. But as this recent weekend approached, I kept pushing myself, heart pumping, to get to the bottom of my list of planned tasks for the week.

After years of working on and off throughout most weekends, I was trying a new approach by taking off at least one entire day every weekend this month, away from reporting, writing and all other work. Early on, I hated it. As simple as it seemed, sticking to a time-off plan stressed me out at first. What I didn’t see right away was that my little test was forcing me to improve the way I work.

Amid layoffs and burgeoning workloads, it seems, working any time, all the time, has become a habit. A survey of 605 U.S. workers last spring by the Society for Human Resource Management found that 70% of employees work beyond scheduled time and on weekends; more than half blame ‘self-imposed pressure.’ Now, new research suggests some have reached the point where a paradoxical truth applies: To get more done, we need to stop working so much.

From the WSJ, via Lifehacker.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Almost Like the Sabbath was Made for Man, or something…

  1. dad says:

    Did Harvard accidentally validate a statement in God’s Word?
    Wow…I’ll be they are shocked!

  2. Laura says:

    It’s good to remember…looking forward to Friday already!

Leave a Reply

