Civilian Pursuits

What does it mean to avoid “civilian pursuits” (2 Tim 2:4)? I’ve been thinking about this; here are some questions that have been rattling around my conscience.

Does it mean I shouldn’t watch baseball a few times a week?
Does it mean I shouldn’t watch movies or tv?
Does it mean I shouldn’t eat food in restaurants as often as I do?
Does it mean I should get up before the sunrise to read the Bible and pray?
Does it mean I should only buy clothes in thrift stores or at a steep discount?
Does it mean I should only drive a purely functional vehicle?
Does it mean I shouldn’t necessarily look for a “safe” neighborhood for my family?

Of course, I know that the answer to all of these questions whittles down to a “between me and the Lord” decision (i.e., they are all matters of conscience). Of course, I know that heartbeat of the answer is why I do or don’t do something, rather than what I do or don’t do.

But my conscience is tender. How do I bring the Gospel to bear on these decisions?

As you can tell, I have more questions than answers at this point.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Meditations, The Cart and the Horse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

