Perhaps This Time

Isaiah 47:12:

“Stand fast in your enchantments
and your many sorceries,
with which you have labored from your youth;
perhaps you may be able to succeed;
perhaps you may inspire terror.”

Perhaps, the Prophet chastises me, you will be able to succeed.
Perhaps this time.
Perhaps this time worry will help me.
Perhaps this time fret will overcome my life’s fretful things.
Perhaps this time some OCD ritual or superstition will protect me.
Perhaps this time (just one more time) worry will help–outhelp–Christ.
Perhaps this time my personal, functional enchantments and sorceries will be my aid.
Perhaps this time Christ is not the best and only Savior.
Perhaps this time God is not a good and loving Father.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Meditations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

