The Google Generation: We Go to Google as a First Resort

I know that I am a member of the “The Google Generation.” We go to Google as our first resort.

Three quick anecdotes:

1. Google mobile: last week, I got my car stuck in the snow. I couldn’t find the button for the hazard lights (it was like five-something in the morning, so I will excuse my stupidity that way). I had my BlackBerry in my pocket, and my first thought was the Google search app with my 3G connection. I Googled “hazard lights 2005 ford focus” (to no avail). THEN, I realized my print owner’s manual was in the glove compartment (where I found the answer to my question).

2. This morning I was thinking about a theological point and my immediate impulse was to Google my question. THEN, I realized that I have detailed notes from a Systematic Theology class on that very topic on my computer.

3. Last week I was wanting some information on tax-related issues for ministers. Of course, I Googled it. Then, last night, I found a comprehensive packet on such issues that I got during seminary graduation.

There are, I think, two lessons:

1. We go to Google first.

2. Google is my first resort, but it is not alway the best resort. I (we) need to be reminded that though our internet searches may be quickest way to find our answers, it may not be the best way.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Google Generation: We Go to Google as a First Resort

  1. Mom says:

    I was just reading an article about how google is affecting
    the upcoming generation of “thinkers”…you know more
    of the “educational” stuff I love so much.
    Anyway, it seems that google is providing lots more scope
    but much less depth of knowledge…umm, interesting.
    Seems we need to get to the meat…not stop at gravy…
    food for thougth 😉

  2. Dad says:

    THANKS…I’m dieting and now I have to think about food…meat, gravy.

    😉

Leave a Reply

