Twitter and Facebook

I read a Tweet recently that said this:

“Facebook is about people you used to know. Twitter is about people you want to know better.”

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twitter and Facebook

  1. Erik says:

    I think there is some truth to this quote. I haven’t jumped on the Tweeter bandwagon just yet, but I’ve gone the Facebook route.

  2. Tato says:

    I think the hardest thing about both is that they create a false community regardless, because instead of loving and serving others in community it is a self-centered manifestation… especially in Twitter. Really, do I need to know that someone is buying broccoli at the grocery store? It kind of adds more weight to things that aren’t that important. It is a community about the individual.

    I have a facebook… which I like more (although it obviously suffers from these same things) because it is more about connecting with other people than twitter which seems to be about having people check up on your own status.

  3. Erik–It’s time to jump aboard 🙂

    Tato–I don’t know if they necessarily create a false or good community. I think they tend to reflect the depth of the community you normally enjoy. I do think they can tend to help or hinder, depending on how well they are used.

Leave a Reply

