Driscoll Repentant About Acts 29 Culture

Brent Thomas says of Mark Driscoll’s talk at the recent Acts 29 Boot Camp in Dallas:

“… towards the end of Driscoll’s talk, he publicly repented of setting the wrong tone for the network. He said that he had allowed arrogance to seep into the culture of the network from the beginning and that, not only had he come to recognize this but repent of it. I can’t tell you how important this was for me to hear. For all my excitement, this has been one of my hesitations with the network. Yes, I understand that church planters need a certain forward-ness, even brashness if you want to call it that, but an entrepreneurial spirit is not necessarily the same thing as arrogance. Leadership does not equal pride. Some of the greatest leaders in the Bible have also been the most humble. Jesus Himself modeled humility rather than anything that could be perceived as arrogance.”

I have had the exact same thoughts about Acts 29 as Brent, and this point made by Driscoll is incredibly encouraging. It says a lot about Driscoll himself and the A29 movement as a whole.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Church Planting, Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Driscoll Repentant About Acts 29 Culture

  1. Eric says:

    This post is about Driscoll, right, so that means it has to turn into a bash-fest in which the moderator will have to turn off comments indefinitely… I hope the irony comes through with that comment, because I’m trying to lay it on pretty thick. I appreciate the post, and Driscoll’s attitude in recent times about his failures. I thought it was incredibly encouraging to see men like John Piper and CJ Mahaney step into his life, and he openly welcomed that godly input. I also thought his talk at Desiring God opened my eyes a lot to appreciate the kind of environment Mark is working in.

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    Thanks for the comment Eric. I agree with you about Driscoll’s attitude, and I think it shows a tremendous amount of maturity when he asks that godly, wise men speak into his life. Were you at the DG conference?

  3. Pingback: Mark Driscoll Confesses and Repents « T h e o • p h i l o g u e

  4. This makes a big difference to me. I could not listen to Mark Driscoll because of the seeming arrogance that I saw. I am for Acts 29, I also agree with the many of the messages, but it was the presentation that I couldn’t take. It reminded me of the guys who broke bricks in the name of Jesus, traveling church to church with their act.

Leave a Reply

