Unbelief, triumphed over. [Poetry]

I keep them all in a little black book now,
where I write them down, when I see or I hear them;
before, before I knew Truth,
they came in, settled in, lived, multiplied their bastard children;
swept out the attic, unpacked, and, perhaps, scrambled some
fresh farm eggs for breakfast.
Like a stray cat, that simply joins the household,
they ingrained themselves and became an assumed part of the home.
So, I don’t always notice them, because many have lived here
almost as long as me;
So sometimes the book’s lines don’t get filled as quick as they should.
But slowly I’m seeing them, because I have new eyes,
they, they’re flooding out as I flood in the light.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unbelief, triumphed over. [Poetry]

  1. Laura says:

    Extraordinary. This is one of your best poems yet.

  2. Lee says:

    Yes – I like this one a lot, too!

    For some reason, as I read it, I thought of the spiders in Mirkwood — Shelob’s spawn spuring light, spinning in darkness…

Leave a Reply

