OCD and the Cross

If you read this blog, or know me at all, you know that I am a worrier. Sometimes, that worry manifests itself with mild symptoms of what is typcially known as Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). I recently found a little book (taken from a journal article in the Journal of Biblical Counseling) by Michael Emlet, called OCD: Freedom for the Obsessive Compulsive.

The most helpful part for me was the discussion surrounding actual versus potential guilt. Often, I get very discouraged by the thoughts of all the wicked sins I could or might commit. I can feel guilty just for the possibility of them. Of course, this is related to the fact that I definitely could do any number of wicked things, because of the sin that lives within me. But the “experience of guilt” is illegitimate in many ways. Jesus did not die for sins his people might commit. He died for the actual sins that they have or will commit. I need to trust his blood for forgiveness for sins I actually have committed (and there are many). And I need to trust his sustaining grace to fence me in from committing any number of possible sins. But I do not need to feel guilty, or obsess about guilt relating to sins I have not actually committed.

This is a complex issue, and overall this little book is a helpful resource, if you or someone you know struggles with any form of what is typically called OCD.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OCD and the Cross

  1. John Weaver says:

    I thought you might be interested in my blog. I blog regularly on biblical counseling, as I am a committed opponent of the movement. I’d be interested in hearing from anyone that was actually helped by biblical counseling.

  2. Jane S says:

    OCD Documentary Seeks Participants!

    A new documentary series about OCD and related disorders is searching for people that are in need of help. This non-exploitive documentary will have the goal of improving the participants’ lives through sessions with a licensed therapist who specializes in obsessive-compulsive behavior.

    Is your OCD severely affecting your life and the lives of your loved ones?

    Are you a washer/cleaner? A checker? A hoarder? An orderer?

    Do you have intense anxiety or phobias that prevent you from living your life the way you want to?

    Are you ready to get your life back and rid yourself of these behaviors forever?

    Chosen applicants will receive FREE cognitive behavioral therapy from doctors and licensed therapists including:
    John Tsilimparis, MFT and Karen Pickett, MFT

    For more information, send us an email at TherapyCasting@yahoo.com or call us at (310) 341-2500 and ask for casting.

  3. Maritza says:

    Hi, actually, I also have OCD and am constantly battling unbelief and anxiety. I’m not sure if what you read is the same or different but I found this article helpful and hope it’s beneficial to you too:
    http://ccef.org/enews_CTW_Dec_08.asp

    Please let me know if you have read or heard of anything else that is helpful. I personally believe that as we turn to the Lord and look to His character that He will help us with this.

    By the way, I noticed that you’re from Louisville, KY, are you familiar with Dr. Mohler, The Southern Baptist Seminary, or a conference called New Attitude that has been hosted there before?
    God bless

Leave a Reply

