God’s People in the Nooks and the Crannies

Isaiah 43:5-7:

Fear not, for I am with you;
I will bring your offspring from the east,
and from the west I will gather you.
I will say to the north, Give up,
and to the south, Do not withhold;
bring my sons from afar
and my daughters from the end of the earth,
everyone who is called by my name,
whom I created for my glory,
whom I formed and made.

A lot could be said about these verses, but one point in particular encourages me. God’s people will be called to God, by God. He has his people in the east and the west, in the north and the south. The doctrine of election is not an abstract doctrine. It means simply that God’s people will be found, and called from every nook and cranny in every part of the earth. As he told Elijah, “I have 7000 men in this city who have not bowed down to Baal.”

God has his people, and he intends that they come to him. That is an encouragment as I seek to fulfills Jesus’ commission to his church. The furthest and the nearest areas of the earth have people who are the Lord’s, and he will call them to himself.

And, by his grace, I get to be a part of it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Meditations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

