One Year of Blogging

I started this blog on July 27, 2007 with this post.

I have accomplished the main thing I wanted to do: post regularly. Before this blog I had tried a number of times to maintain one, but I never stuck with it. So, I guess there is something to be said for the fact that this blog is still here. It’s been a great experience. It’s put me into contact with a lot of folks I would not otherwise have met, and I think it has sharpened me in multiple ways. It has morphed from a long-winded post machine, into more short, readable and hopefully interesting and helpful postings. I changed my philosophy, partly due to time constraints, and because I realized that the blogs I read and enjoy are those that provide the most bang for the buck (or content per word used).

After one year, I have had 19,000-plus hits and have 10 or more subscribers. Hopefully those of you who read this regularly have been helped and enjoyed your time here. I intend to keep the almanac running with guns blazing, and, hopefully, this year will be even better than the first.

Thanks to you all who read and comment. Thanks to my wife for being (generally) patient when I spend too much time doing this. Thanks especially to Jesus, for giving me something worth writing about.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in State of the Almanac and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

