Incarnational Mission?

Tim Chester doesn’t like it. You should read why.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Incarnational Mission?

  1. Tato says:

    Isn’t he just kind of splitting hairs? He talks about how the “incarnational” model promotes a “be” instead of “tell” approach, but I don’t get that sense from people who stress the incarnational approach. It seems like the incarnational approach is more of a missionary model, being with the people in order to share the gospel. I understand the theological implications of using the term, but it seems like he is splitting hairs a bit in his reaction to the term.

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    Tato,
    I think I agree and I disagree with you that he is just splitting hairs. On the one hand, just because the “Incarnation” is a technical term that describes a one-time even, it does not mean that its use cannot illustrate how we live as Christians. On the other hand, aren’t some semantics restricted. For example, you wouldn’t call yourself “God” and redefine it to mean “trying to be like God”. “I am God to you” does not mean “I am living like God calls me to live before and for you.” I think there are some words that should be kept special. I don’t know where I fall on “incarnation/al” itself, though.

    I think what I liked most about Tim’s post is that it underscores the counter-cultural aspect of the gospel. Yes we must make the gospel comprehensible to a culture, but we are also in many ways called to be “in” and not “of” it.

  3. Tato says:

    I agree that he does highlight the counter-cultural and transformational nature that we are to take in regards to culture. I just also think that a lot of “scholarly” people are considered so or become like that because of semantical debates. Do these things look any different in practice?

    Anyways, not big deal, I am not in debate mode, but just had free time and looked at the post earlier and had some ideas.

    I hope all is well in the big KY. See you in a couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

