A Person not a Concept

In the midst of struggles and doubts about God’s plan, whether he will answer prayer, or when he hasn’t given what we’ve asked for, I find that it’s easy to reduce all of this to a concept or an idea. That if I do part A, that is, I ask, then God will (by obligation) do part B. But that’s a mechanistic view of it all, that we’re dealing with something other than a real Person with whom we’re in real relationship.

Jesus is the face where I find my comfort, the voice who speaks to my weary soul. He is not an idea, a concept (even an “orthodox” concept, like the God-man, or the sacrificial Lamb). He is a Person, who really lived and really died and who really is alive, right now. That is harder, in many ways, to get my mind around than an idea. That I am in relationship with this Man, who is also God, that I commune with him by his Spirit and his Spirit-wrought Word.

That is assurance in a stormy sea, a Person whose voice can calm the waves.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Gospel, Theology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

