The Church, Mediocrity, and Poetry

I have three short and unrelated things I want to point out today.

1. Timmy Brister notes that the local church needs to be the priority in today’s “Reformed, celebrity conference culture.” True that. A couple of months ago Laura and I were eating dinner at a Chicago airport and talking about our future in ministry. She wanted me to explain why I was so set on going in to the local church, and not teaching in an educational institution (whether it be a high school, college, or seminary). (Not that she disagreed with me, but she wanted me to tell her, concisely and exactly, why). I told her that Jesus died for the church and that he started the church, not a school (or conference). His work in the world is meant to be carried on by the church, which, I think the New Testament bears out, is manifested in the local church supremely. These conferences are great. I have gone to a number of them. I listen to the audio from many of them. But they are not the church. I think Timmy points out some good stuff in that post.

2. Seth Godin says: “If you are willing to satisfy people with good enough, you can make just about everybody happy. If you delight people and create change that lasts, you’re going to offend those that hate change in all its forms. Your choice.”

3. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that some of the most terrifying and the most comforting passages in the Bible are in the poetic books. I think it’s because poetry has an ability to convey something that prose, often, cannot.

Now, I need to go mow the lawn before work.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in links, Literary, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

