Family Devotions and My Church’s Silly Kid’s Songs

Crossing, my church here in Louisville, has a bunch of catchy, stick-in-your-head songs that they play for the children’s mini-worship service called “Kidz Time” (yes with a “Z”).

One of them, which convicts me all the time, goes like this:

Discipline is doing what you need to do, even when you don’t feel like it.

Simple, catchy, and profound, even (especially?) for a grown-up almost-seminary-graduate.

Well, tonight, Laura and I were sitting down to eat dinner, and I felt zero desire to pull out the Bibles and do our fledging post-meal family devotions. But that’s where discipline hits, right? Doing what I should do–leading my family–even when I don’t feel like it.

So, we read some Scripture, prayed together, and sang a worship song together, even though I didn’t (at first) feel like it. I confessed my stubbornness of heart, and we ended up having 7-10 minutes of beautiful Spirit-wrought worship before our wonderful God.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Family, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

