Boppie, Grandpa, Dad’s dad

This morning when I walked out to turn on the lawn sprinkler, the smell reminded me of my grandparents’ back yard. My grandfather (Boppie we call him) used to spend hours back there, doing crazy, retired-guy things like handwashing the white rocks in the planters. The semi-humid, warm smell of morning on the lawn brought back memories of working with Boppie (to my chagrin, at the time) in that back yard. He worked hard, all the time, until he had a debilitating stroke. I learned from Boppie what hard work looks like, and I need to apply his work ethic. Slavich men work hard. Boppie taught me that by his example. I need to better live up to my name. 

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boppie, Grandpa, Dad’s dad

  1. sarah says:

    Great post.

    Looking forward to seeing you guys in a few days!

Leave a Reply

