Read Different Types of Books (or) there is More in the Bible than Just the Epistles

Mostly these days I read theologically bent, academic types of books. Last weekend, though, I read a novel. It was great. Refreshing and thoughtful.

I got to thinking that perhaps my reading is imbalanced. The Bible is not just didactic literature. It has narrative, poetry, apocalyptic, and, of course, the epistles. Now, all of these were written for a purpose, and to convey a certain thing or things about God and man, God’s work in redemption, and so on. But the different biblical genres all take different tacks.

Maybe my reading has been too “epistolary”. Maybe the epistles could be correlated with theological works like seminary students tend to be expected (and want) to read. This does not correspond exactly, but I think it is a helpful analogy. If a minority section of the Scripture is straight-forward, didactic material, perhaps I should engineer my own reading according to a similar ratio.

That is, I should probably read more biographies, histories, novels, poetry, and, yes, theological treatises. Of course, many of the good books in any genre will have a certain theological viewpoint and a certain amount of theological content. There is a difference, however, between genres.

Perhaps I need to pick my books more biblically.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

