A(bor)(dop)tion

At lunch yesterday I was eating a sandwich directly across the street from Louisville’s abortion clinic. I was reading this post on my BlackBerry about the tragic death of Maria, the daughter of Steven Curtis Chapman. Maria was a five-year-old adopted daughter who was tragically struck by an SUV driven by her older brother.

As I ate my lunch, a woman walked out of the abortion clinic’s mirrored-glass door while a younger-looking girl in sweats hobbled out behind her. It was, I assume, the hobble of an out-patient surgery intended to remove an inconvenient fetus.

Honestly, I am struggling to find a way to describe the tension I felt. It is the tension of a broken world, where mothers drive their daughters to exterminate an inconvenient little baby. And where famous music stars adopt a precious girl, who then, for reasons we can’t know, is taken by the Father out of the world.

What is there to say? If that hobbling girl and the Chapman family were all sitting with me now at my breakfast table, what would I say?

God is a good Father. God is a forgiving Father. God is a giving Father, who gave his Son to fix this broken world, with its aborted fetuses and SUV accidents. Turn to him and find forgiveness and rest, dear hobbling girl. Trust in him, amid the tears and questions, dear Chapman family.

My heart is broken in both ways. But I know God is good. He proved that, and he still proves it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Suffering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A(bor)(dop)tion

  1. Lee says:

    A very moving post, my friend. Tragic situations, both.

  2. Lee says:

    And yes, God is so good! I’ve been reading in Psalms for my reading program, and wow – even though I just read through them all (slowly) last year, they are really ministering to my soul right now. Here are some recent highlights:

    Ps 27:13 I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the LORD; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the LORD! (NKJV)

    All of Ps 29!

Leave a Reply

