I Kept on Stabbing that poor pancake

Two years ago yesterday I sat across from Laura at an eccentric local restaurant and repeatedly stabbed a syrup-soaked pancake with my fork.

We were having a late breakfast together and discussing me meeting her parents later that week. It was the “define the relationship” talk and I was not suave or smooth. Mostly, I stabbed my pancake a lot and beat around the bush.

But because God is good and Laura was starting to really like me, it didn’t matter that I stabbed that pancake while I should have been shooting straight (except to tell as a funny story later).

God had his plan for me–a cute Florida blond who didn’t mind too much that I was chubby and who now loves me more than I deserve.

While I stabbed a pancake, God was doing a miracle. (Her name is Laura Slavich now).

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Laura, Theology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Kept on Stabbing that poor pancake

  1. Laura Slavich says:

    You may not have been smooth or suave, but you were cute, and funny, your love for the Lord was clear, and I am so glad that breakfast has led to so many more. I love you.

Leave a Reply

