Sarah’s and Justin’s Faith in the Valley

A few days ago I posted about an unspoken prayer request.

I can give more details now.

I’ll let my sister tell it in her own words:

Friends,
This is so hard to write, especially online, but after 9 weeks, our baby is now with the Lord in heaven. Some unusual pain sent Justin and I to the emergency room and the tests revealed that we had an ectopic pregnancy. We feel the grief from our loss, but we know that God has spared my life in this potentially fatal experience. I underwent immediate surgery and my right fallopian tube, along with the baby, was removed. Right now I’m in recovery, knowing that my Jesus has a plan to make His name known. He is my comfort. He is my Rock. He’s taking care of my little family and showing Justin and I love and comfort in ways that we’ve never known. God is good…all the time. We trust Him completely and continue to covet your prayers as we heal from the loss of our little one. Thank you for your love and support.
Love,
Sarah

Likewise my brother-in-law posted this (in place of the previous, now deleted, post announcing their pregnancy):

Blessed be Your Name

On the road marked with suffering

Though there’s pain in this offering

Blessed be Your name. Every blessing You pour out I’ll turn back to praise

When the darkness closes in Lord, still we will say

Blessed be the Name of the Lord
Blessed be Your Name
Blessed be the Name of the Lord
Blessed be Your Glorious Name.

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your Name!!

This is our heart. I have never been so blessed, so sad, so overwhelmed, so proud, so happy, so completely undone in all of my life. God is so good. Even in tragedy. I am so undeserving of His love.

James 1:2-4

2 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

John 16:33
33 “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Thank you everyone for your prayers thus far. Please continue to pray for Sarah and Justin. Pray that Sarah would continue to heal physically. But moreso pray that they would continue to place such faith in the Lord. Pray that the future would not bring bitterness. Pray that Jesus would sustain them, now and when everyone else has forgotten the pain.

Sarah and Justin: I love you guys. I love your baby who is now in heaven, and who I will meet someday in the presence of our Jesus. I may be in seminary, but such suffering as yours is the true school of faith. Your faith in Jesus inspires me.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sarah’s and Justin’s Faith in the Valley

  1. dad says:

    We started out with four great kids.
    Now we have six great kids.
    I am humbled by the faith of all of them.
    Thanks, God!

Leave a Reply

