Why Not Me?!

Yesterday during Piper’s message he mentioned a story of a man who had lost his three children at a young age, and, after sixty years of marriage, had lost his wife to insanity. Someone asked him if he ever asked, “Why me?” He said, “No, I have never asked that. I do always ask, ‘Why not me?'”

An incredibly painful thing happened last night/this morning to people I care about deeply. (I can’t give any details right now). I have spent much time crying harder than I ever have before in my life in the last 12-15 hours. And I couldn’t help but think, “Why not me?”

If you read this please pray. I hate “unspoken” prayer requests. But this one is, for now. The Lord knows, though. So, please pray.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Suffering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Not Me?!

  1. dad says:

    I love you.

  2. Ripley says:

    Great post, Danny. I recently reflected on the same questions in one of my recent blogs. I’ll be praying for the “unspoken” request. Praying for you as well…

  3. William says:

    We are praying as well…let us know if there us anything we can do.

  4. Danny Slavich says:

    Thanks all.

  5. Pingback: Sarah’s and Justin’s Faith in the Valley « almanac of captivity

Leave a Reply

