Initial BoB/T4G Reflections

It’s over. I feel like I just got off the bus after summer camp. But it was a great two-plus days.

At Band of Bloggers, seeing and/or meeting people who I mainly interact with through the internet was great. Among these folks and throughout the week I enjoyed seeing/talking to/meeting/hanging out with a bunch of people, including Drew, Massimo, Ryan, Brandon, Justin, Chris, Tony, Trevin, Owen, Abraham, Timmy, Hank, Aaron, and others.

Another highlight was the phat hook up of free books (24 free books between Band of Bloggers and the general conference!). I plan on giving some of these away (some are duplicates), and many will be helpful and encouraging reading.

The general sessions were very helpful. The things that I’ll remember from each session are:

Ligon Duncan: Systematic theology is not a peripheral issue to preachers or the Christian life.

Thabiti Anyabwile: “Race” is a false category. We are all united in Adam as those created in God’s image.

John MacArthur: We are all completely unable and unwilling to choose good because of our sin.

Mark Dever: Keep the simple, biblical Gospel and don’t try to “improve” it.

R.C. Sproul: Jesus bore the depths of God’s wrath and damnation.

Al Mohler: Denying penal substitution is much more insidious and dangerous than we even realize.

John Piper: The sweetest fellowship with Christ is the fellowship of his sufferings. Love Christ more than anything (including my wife or ministry).

C.J. Mahaney: Be grateful and stop complaining. Be a joyful pastor (or future pastor!).

Overall, the messages from Sproul, Piper, and Mahaney hit my soul the hardest.

It was a wonderful conference. I am taking C.J. Mahaney’s advice: tonight I am taking my wife out to dinner to thank her for letting me go, and to share with her what I have learned.


About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Initial BoB/T4G Reflections

  1. brotherhank says:

    It was good to finally meet you brother! I look forward to keeping in touch!

    For the Gospel!

    ‘Hank

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    You too Hank!

  3. Brandon says:

    I have to say, I enjoyed dining with you bro. I usually have to get the low-down on you from Drew, so it was great to catch up and talk about what you were diggin’ about the conference. (You’re lucky I didn’t slap your food out of your hands like I did Drew’s sandwich)

  4. Tony Kummer says:

    Danny – It was great to meet you. We should try to hang out if I ever get more than 3 hours on campus!

  5. Jon Wymer says:

    A great summary of the conference. I agree on the three messages that spoke most directly to the soul of the “average pastor” as CJ so aptly puts it.

  6. Danny Slavich says:

    Brandon, our Pub experience was incredible. That was the biggest piece of fried fish I have ever seen. I would have slapped it out of your hands, but I think it would have broken the table. I agree that it was very cool getting to chat and hang out. We’ll need to do that more.

    Tony, it was great to meet you too. Email/comment when you are going to be on campus and we’ll see if we can get coffee or something.

    Jon, I think you are right about the “average pastor” thing. I appreciated him consistently bring the other guys “down to our level”. I hope you enjoyed the conference.

  7. Great meeting you Danny! David Yeiser metnioned you were on the lookout!

  8. drewdixon says:

    Danny! I miss you already–we need to get your wife and my future wife together and hang out in the very near future!

  9. nathanwells says:

    Did you agree with Thabiti Anyabwile as far as the whole race is not in our biology (or something like that)?

    I heard he was taken to task by Piper and Mohler behind the scenes…

    And did you think that T4G was a lecture series (like ETS)? Was it what you were expecting?

  10. Danny Slavich says:

    Drew,
    Ditto.

    Nathan,
    I didn’t hear about Piper and Mohler talking to Thabiti behind the scenes. What did you and how did you hear about it? This year was somewhat “lectorial”, and more cerebral than I was expecting. Still, it was helpful.

  11. nathanwells says:

    I heard it from Rick Holland (college pastor at grace) today in class.

Leave a Reply

