The Radical Reformission: You Need to Read This Book

I can count on one hand the books I would say this about. Even after almost three years of seminary reading.

And I’m not saying it because I am a Driscoll fanboy. I like him and his ministry. But I’m not going to put him or his book on a pedestal because of that.

I’m telling you to read this book because most folks who read this blog know more about the Bible than many of the world’s Christian pastors. Yet, we don’t live a life of mission for Christ’s kingdom.

This book helps to see how we can do this.

Over Christmas, I mentioned to Mike, my pastor from home, that The Radical Reformission is the best and most accessible book on being about God’s mission I have ever read. He read it, and I think he found it helpful. And this is a man who was a missionary and has been a pastor for over twenty years! That is mainly to say — this book is a great resource for those who became Christians a week ago, or for someone like Mike.

Whether or not you like Mark Driscoll (or know who he is), you should read this book. It’s easy and quick to read (I re-read it, skimming some of course, in a few hours in the past day or so). It’s fun and engaging. Most importantly, it will help you to obey Jesus’s command at the end of Matthew.

Buy it. Read it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Radical Reformission: You Need to Read This Book

  1. nathanwells says:

    Have you read the reviews of this book over at http://www.challies.com/archives/articles/emergent-church/radical-reformi-1.php

    What do you think about what Challies says?

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    Short answer: I agree with a few of Challies’ concerns (which I have myself), such as becoming overly insensitive to the dangers of culture. I have heard Piper say multiple times that he could never engage culture the way Driscoll does, because it would kill him spiritually. I think that Driscoll DOES assume that his own way of doing is the best way. Each person may not be able to engage culture/be “in culture” to the same extent and still grow as God wants.

    However, I think Challies’ review leans toward the fundamentalism that Driscoll denounces, and which I think is also dangerous.

  3. Ben says:

    Driscoll: Jesus made an emerging church with his disciples and used exactly the same methodology as I used in starting Mars Hill. For full details, see my published works.

    Challies, speaking for fundamentalists everywhere, to Driscoll: Stop assuming that your cultural interpretation of Jesus’ ministry is the only correct way to do it. That’s our job.

    🙂

    I wonder if I could get this book through mobipocket or something. I’d like to read it.

  4. dad says:

    Okay, I ordered this book. I’ll let you know if I’m still a Christian after I read it!

Leave a Reply

