Poem: Circumcision

April is National Poetry Month. I haven’t posted much in the way of poetry lately, but this is something I wrote some time ago:

Spirit-work, invisible
In my heart.
My now replaced, now fleshly heart,
Which beats and bleeds–
Alive! Alive!

Spirit-work, sometimes miserable,
Shears layered skin
From this corpulent heart,
Which now can beat, which now can bleed–
Alive! Alive!

Spirit-work, so merciful!
Conforms my heart, so it can feel
And now can love,
Tender, true.
Made to beat, made to bleed,
By love, Alive!
By love, Alive!

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poem: Circumcision

  1. wanderer7 says:

    this is a practice I have never understood

  2. Ripley says:

    I’ve always appreciated your poetry, man.. Good stuff.

  3. Danny Slavich says:

    Wanderer, You are saying you don’t understand the practice of circumcision or of writing poetry?

    Thanks, John.

Leave a Reply

