What I Said When an Atheist Co-Worker Asked How a Mother Could Kill Her Two Children in their Sleep

This is the story we were discussing.

Andrew, an atheist coworker asked me how “we” (me and the other Christian co-workers) would explain how “something like this could happen.”

“Well,” I said, “Thousands of years ago a man named Adam rebelled against God’s commandment and every person ever since then has been full of wickedness.”

“Basically,” he said, joking, “You’re saying I shouldn’t have asked.”

Lord, have mercy on Gail Coontz and on those involved in this awful situation. Pour out your grace and make your name great through this. Show Andrew who you are. May he see the reality of sin and the need for a savior.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Sin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Said When an Atheist Co-Worker Asked How a Mother Could Kill Her Two Children in their Sleep

  1. The Broken Forum says:

    Yea…that sure answers his question…

    I’m sure that would be a comforting answer to not only the Coontz family but to anyone who has suffered anything.

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    Well the context wasn’t about comforting those who suffer. It was a more generic question he asked. The problem, I answered, is that people are sinful.

    There is comfort, and I wanted to offer it to him, but he quickly ended the conversation. The comfort is that Jesus died and rose to conquer and forgive sin. Anyone can be forgiven, and for someone like Gail Coontz, that is the most comforting fact imaginable.

Leave a Reply

