Engaging God’s World/Posts Got Deleted

So, last night I spent about an hour writing a book reflection of Engaging God’s World by Cornelius Plantinga. I timestamped it to post at 4:00 a.m. today. Unfortunately, it somehow disappeared, along with my posts from Monday and Tuesday. I’m thinking they are gone, and, unfortunately, I didn’t have them backed up on my hard drive.

So, quickly, I will just tell you that Engaging God’s World is a good book. It refreshed me and was helpful, both for what Plantinga says and for how he says it. I liked the basic emphasis on the biblical storyline of Creation, Fall, Redemption, and the implications for a Christian world- and work-view. The basic thrust of the book can be summarized in this quote:

All has been created good, including the full range of human cultures that emerge when humans act according to God’s design. But all has been corrupted by evil, including not only culture but also the natural world. So all — the whole cosmos — must be redeemed by Jesus Christ the Lord. What follows is that all of life is sacred: the whole of it stands under the blessing, judgment, and redeeming purposes of God (xv).

The only danger I see with emphasizing the big picture of Creation, Fall, Redemption is a tendency to minimize the necessity of individual regeneration. I don’t think that is a problem with this book, but it can be an illegitimate implication of taking the Creation/Fall/Redemption/sacredness of all of life view too far.

Still, read this book, and you will be better for it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

