Why the Internet Monk Doesn’t Read Your Blog

He posted his top ten reasons.

It’s an interesting and helpful discussion.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why the Internet Monk Doesn’t Read Your Blog

  1. Ben says:

    So, which traps do you fall into / or rather, which ones did you feel might be unfairly directed at you?

    The only I really thought I fell into was number 3: mistaking yourself for Ben Witherington III. But I do have a defense. This is it:

    1) Being smart doesn’t always equal being right.

    2) You don’t need to be an expert to have an opinion.

    3) Writing or reading a blog is not always about getting expert advice or analysis, but about connecting to issues personally (for both the writer and reader). I know that random people read my blog and they’re welcome to, but I mostly write for myself and my friends, and though I don’t think I’m an idiot, I find that usually the discussion is much more valuable than my initial thoughts, which are usually not incredibly profound.

  2. Danny Slavich says:

    I think I might tend to make my blog too personal. I try to take things in my life and make more broad/general points. But maybe it’s too much “me.”

  3. Tato says:

    Really interesting stuff. I have become a little disenchanted with blogging about things mainly because I feel like I fall into #3 and #4 (doesn’t lead to anything new).

    I feel like the problem with blogging as a whole is his #5 reason (but with a little bit of a spin), a “people just pat their influences/friends on the butt” type of reason. That may actually be the problem with most Christian intellectualism and scholarship. No offense is intended, but whenever they post book review/recommendations at the “Between Two Worlds” site it is the same people recommending each other’s books… it always makes me laugh, like it is a club. It seems like a lot of people don’t read viewpoints that challenge them or go contrary to what they think.

  4. Ben says:

    Danny: I see what you mean, you don’t want to assume that what you are learning is relevant to everybody.

    And yet, I think the whole point of blogging is in some way … personality. Maybe you don’t want to talk about yourself all the time, but if people read your blog, it’s because of you (whether they know you or not).

  5. Pingback: Should Blogs Be About Us or About Ideas? « almanac of captivity

Leave a Reply

