Running Scared, ch. 13 — “Seek My Face”

This chapter in the beginning reiterates the point(s) that Welch has already mentioned about Christian growth, especially in the area of worry and trust:

We would still like to abolish anxieties quickly, but we are learning that God values strong foundations and gradual growth, and such foundations are established as we feed on him and his words. As we meditate on Scripture and make it our own, we should anticipate slow but steady change (147).

The last sentence is important when it says we must make Scripture our own. I’m assuming most of you who are reading this are like me: if and/or when you study the Scripture, you can easily get lost in theoretical concepts or questions. A good example was when I studied the Flood narrative for teaching the junior high group at West Hills. I found it very easy to get caught up in the extent of the flood, when it happened, and all sorts of other scientific questions. Of course, that’s not why God has it in Scripture — getting lost in the scientific question misses the point in two ways. The flood story is much bigger and also much more personal than scientific issues. It’s about judgment (bigger). And it’s about my own sin and God’s salvation of me (more personal). Often, making Scripture “my own” is where I disconnect with life change, so this point rebukes me.

The rest of the chapter is Welch’s exposition of Psalm 27. Honestly, this chapter did not reach my heart like much of the rest of the book has. However, the the point above is worth the chapter; and I think the chapter itself is Welch applying the principle and helping the reader to learn to do the same thing.

I think God speaks to his people from throughout his word, on various issues from various passages. Like how Romans 8:23 so encouraged me, even in my worrying. It’s because it was made my own, by God’s grace. I knew that the Spirit was leading me to read through Romans, and he indeed showed me something intensely and wonderfully person in it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Running Scared. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

