A Growing List of Reading for a Year

Yesterday, I mentioned/linked to Trevin Wax’s 100 book a year goal. His post encouraged me to make a more formal plan for reading for the coming year. The list below is about ten books. I figure I’ll have to read 25 or so books for classes this year also. That brings the total to 35-40. I figure I read about that in 2007, without any sort of definite plan (except, of course, for school). I think that 60-70 books this year is very possible.

Also, there are dozens of books I know I want to read, which are not on this list because (a) I can’t think of them right now (b) I don’t know about them yet. Perhaps I’ll create a “currently reading” page or widget like many folks do, so I can update this list regularly. Here’s the first draft of this list:

Bible Doctrine, Wayne Grudem. Reading through this one with a friend.

Les Miserables, Victor Hugo. Got this for Christmas awhile back, but I haven’t read it yet.

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire, Jim Cymbala. Got this for Christmas this year.
The Reformed Pastor, Richard Baxter. The pastor of my home church gave me a copy of this when I was on staff.

Engaging God’s World: A Christian Vision of Faith, Learning, and Living, Cornelius Plantinga. I married into this book (it was Laura’s), and I want to read it every time I see it on the shelf.

Are the Miraculous Gifts for Today?, ed. Wayne Grudem (4 views). I’ve read parts, but not all, of this book.

The Space Trilogy, C.S. Lewis.

Adopted into God’s Family: Exploring a Pauline Metahpor, Trevor J. Burke.

Death by Suburb, Dave L. Goetz (NOBC title).

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Growing List of Reading for a Year

  1. Ben says:

    I’ve read Les Miserables. It was a rewarding experience, but it may have been one of the toughest fiction reads of my life. It is very long, the story moves very slowly, and nonfiction portions of seemingly little relevance are liberally interspersed between the fiction portions. Probably not something you can finish without a good month or two of exclusive reading.

    Is Cornelius Plantinga related to Alvin Plantinga, the philosopher?

  2. Lee says:

    On the other hand, there are some quick reads on the list – the first two books in the Space Trilogy (the third was a little slower for me the first time I read it), and (so far, for me) Death by Suburb

  3. Tato says:

    I am a big fan of the Space Trilogy and recently read the first book over again… and will read Perelandra soon. I confirm Lee’s comment about the third book.

  4. Danny Slavich says:

    Barnab–I mean, Ben (s0rry, I am almost mistook you for the son of encouragement)–thank you for your encouraging words.

    On a non-sarcastic note, I’m pretty sure than those two guys would be brothers.

    On a possibly sarcastic, but definitely funny note, I think they could form a sort of superhero duo…

    Lee,
    I think you’re right. A lot of times I think I read too many slow reads, and I assume that ALL books are slow reads. But, I think mixing it up can make reading more fun and manageable.
    Death by Suburb is a quick read so far. (Not to mention practically a zen Buddhist, mystical slobglob read…)

    Tato,
    I think I will have my revenge in ping pong.

  5. Lee says:

    LOL (for real!)

    If the Cornelius in question is a Jr., then yes, they are brothers. Ben, you’ll love the name of the institution where he is president! (Sorry – that was another sarcastic note… but I couldn’t resist!)

    I agree about DbS – I haven’t quite figured out who his intended audience is… figuring that out may help me deal w/ the informal style and what appears to be lack of discernment on his part… though probably not the sloppy editing :-/

    Tato – when are we going to play ping pong?

  6. Ben says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cornelius_Plantinga
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alvin_Plantinga

    They are brothers. Alvin’s wikipedia article is a lot longer. There’s no section on “Cornelius Plantinga’s Philosophical Views” either. I wonder if Cornelius is jealous of his brother’s wikipedia article. Then again, Cornelius is a lot younger, he might catch up.

Leave a Reply

