Love to Eat, Hate to Eat

I’ve written before about the fact that I am a glutton. That means I eat food in a way that is sinful. Some time ago, I bought the book Love to Eat, Hate to Eat by Elyse Fitzpatrick. It’s mostly geared toward women, but still has some very helpful things in general relating to food-lust/gluttony. In it she outlines a very helpful acronym for examining motives when eating. This helps me, because food is such a complex thing. We need it to survive (unlike something like alcohol or even sex), and therefore we must partake of it. Still, it can be (and is) abused. I have often struggled with finding the line is between sin and sustenance. The acronym is  D-I-S-C-I-P-L-I-N-E-D Eating. (The descriptions are mainly my paraphrase of those found on page 231 of the book).

D – Doubt: Do I doubt (for whatever reason) that I can eat this food without sinning?

I – Idolatry: Does the desire to eat this spring from some idol in my heart?

S – Stumble: Will eating this cause another brother/sister to stumble?

C – Covet: Do I want to eat this because I saw someone else eating it (or something else)?

I – Inroad: Would eating this cause an inroad to sin in the area of gluttony?

P – Praise: Can I eat this with true thanksgiving and praise to God for his provision?

L – Life: Would eating this be detrimental to my health?

I – Illustrate: Would eating this model good eating habits for others?

N – No: Can I say no to this food, even if I think it is within my liberty to eat it?

E – Emotional: Do I want to eat this because of some sinful emotion?

D – Distract: Would eating this distract me from more important/profitable things?

E – Enslaved – Would eating this food bring me under any sort of bondage?

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Eating, Sanctification. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

