Daily Biblical Languages

I’m stalling before I have to assemble myself into a tuxedo for my good friend Scott Ryan’s wedding.

I was reading at David Alan Black’s blog and read this:

I’ve decided to take the plunge and begin re-reading Romans in my daily Greek devotions. Romans is probably the most complete and condensed statement of the Gospel and yet it is hardly obtuse theology. I have the strong conviction that Paul sees the finished work of Christ and the centrality of the atonement accomplished on Calvary as having tremendous ecclesiological implications. Political (ch. 13) and social (chs. 14-15) issues are no less important to Paul than soteriological (chs. 1-11) and ethical ones (ch. 12). I especially want to learn what Paul thinks about the kingdom of God and how it impacts history. The book no doubt is full of profound insights, and Paul’s lucidity and brilliance in the Greek text will, I’m sure, make for some challenging twists and turns. I have no doubt it will be an uphill and at times discouraging task.  I confess that I embark on it with considerable trepidation, but if I do not set an example for my students how can I ever expect them to read their Greek daily?

This morning, after my devotions in Exodus 32, I also read an article (originally assigned for my hermeneutics course) on Exodus 32 which interacted with the Hebrew.

I am wanting to become more consistent in practicing and sharpening my use and ability with the languages. My Greek is decent, but my Hebrew is virtually non-existent.

But, for now, I have to go put on my tux.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Biblical Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Biblical Languages

  1. Tato says:

    I always “intend” to get into the Greek text but never find a way around to it… however… I did it as part of my sermon prep this past time around and it was really rewarding.

Leave a Reply

