Selfishness and Death in Christ

I am profoundly selfish. That’s why I need to ingest this verse, and ingest it a lot:

For the love of Christ controls us, having concluded this, that one died for all, therefore all died; and He died for all, that they who live should no longer live for themselves, but for Him who died and rose again on their behalf (2 Cor. 5:14-15).

Notice that Paul here argues from the death of Christ as the basis for an (implied) exhortation.  Some time ago I wrote a post on Mark 10:45, which makes the same basic point: that theology in the Scriptures are often used to give a reason or ground or basis for some type of action. In this verse there is not direct command, but the implication is that Paul would have the Corinthians begin to live “for Him” and “no longer for themselves.” It was the purpose of the work of Christ — dying and rising — that we (on whose behalf he died and was raised) might live for him.

I think the point of this verse is pretty clear then. But the question that I ask immediately is “How do I do this? How do I live for Christ?”

I could think of a bunch of easy and canned examples, and type them out for whoever might read this; but I don’t want to do that right now.
I want to be changed, and live for Christ and no longer for myself.

I want to pray for my friends and loved ones, that they might do the same.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Selfishness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selfishness and Death in Christ

  1. Lee says:

    Great verses, desire, and prayer – I’ll be praying for you!

  2. Lee says:

    (I don’t think I need to say it, but I’ll say it anyway – I have the same problem…)

Leave a Reply

