The Disconnect

Disconnect Why does my knowledge outweigh obedience?

Why is there disparity between the information I know and actions I do?

Why do I hear and not perform?

If I know the truth, why does the truth not set me free?

Why does the knowledge of my sovereign Lord not unchain my worried heart?

Why the disconnect?

Might it be that I do not truly know as I ought, or, more specifically, that I do not actually believe what I know? Somewhere it says that those believe enter the rest of God. I know the truth (though not fully, until the other side of eternity). But, still, I know the nuts and bolts to bolster trust. Sovereignty. Love. Heart-change-ability. I know these things.

It must be, then, that I do not believe them. At least not as I ought. Belief and trust are similar concepts. So, then, I must have a trust problem.

This has been hitting me harder recently.

I’ve read things. The Bible. Theology.

I know things.

But, it’s getting things into my heart that seems to be the problem.

That’s the disconnect.

 

 

 

 

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Sanctification, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Disconnect

  1. dad says:

    Hey there,
    Check out this link.
    You may find it helpful.
    One thing is for sure.
    You are not alone in your situation.
    Love,
    Dad

    http://www.pbcc.org/sermons/vanderet/1204.html

  2. Lee says:

    Ding ding ding – you’ve nailed it! I think this is a general problem. I have it in spades. And, I think I know the answer to the questions – at least for me: it is because I love the sin (pride, lust, whatever it is that is keeping me from being obedient) more than I love God.

  3. Pingback: “How People Change” - Book Review « [- Grasping the Cross -]

Leave a Reply

