Miscellany

This has been a rough week — one of the hardest weeks of my life. It’s a somewhat long, very personal story. If you know me and care about me, and you want more details, I would be willing to fill you in by email, phone, or whatever. But through everything, I have learned a lot, about myself, about my incredible God, and my incredible family, especially my wife. I have tasted anew God’s grace and forgiveness, seen my self-righteousness exposed and have seen again our need to trust the Word and not our feelings. There has been, this week, often a chasm between what I feel about things and what the truth of things are. In those moments I have prayed for grace and clung to the truth of God’s word.

Today, things are remarkably better, subjectively — that is, I feel better, having gone through a very deep emotional and spiritual valley.

It reminds me, again, that our theology must never be abstract. Honestly, in the depths of despair and being crushed in spirit theology means nothing if it does not have a practical effect on one’s life. It also demonstrates the importance of theology, because in some ways my theology helped me through. Knowing that God is good and that God is sovereign, both completely and simultaneously, provides a rock to stand on when enduring the gusts of horrible wind this life can blow.

It also shows the importance of fellowship and community built in trust. Without caring people this week, it would have been almost unbearable at times I think .

I have a couple of poems in progress right now, but nothing fined tuned.

I probably won’t post anything else today, and I am going to take my weekly internet sabbath tomorrow.

May all who are reading this be blessed and kept by our great and good God.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Personal Update. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miscellany

  1. dad says:

    Just remember, Jesus came to save sinners. Sometimes life reminds us that we are exactly that. That’s not said to minimize the concern about our sin. When we deal with sin, we are reminded of our great need for a Savior as well as humbled by the wonderful provision of grace. If, after it has been covered by the blood of the Lamb, the Lord of Heaven chooses to forget our sin, how dare we continue to condemn ourselves?

    Rest in your cleanness and recognize its source.

    Love,

    Dad

  2. Lee says:

    Wow – sounds (and has sounded) heavy! Praise God for lessons learned, a wonderful family (especially, as you say, your wonderful wife!), and community.

    One of my “go to” passages in times like the one you just went through:

    ESV Ps 94:17 If the LORD had not been my help,
    my soul would soon have lived in the land of silence.
    18 When I thought, “My foot slips,”
    your steadfast love, O LORD, held me up.
    19 When the cares of my heart are many,
    your consolations cheer my soul.

    Still praying.

Leave a Reply

