Sabbath deux, (and a quick update)

I didn’t post a poem today (obviously).

I have also decided that I’m not going to blog at all tomorrow — no reading, writing, checking stats. Nothing related to blogging. It will break my streak (unfortunately) because I have posted every day since July 27 (when I started the Almanac). I think, though, that it’s important, because Laura has started mentioning more often how much time I spend on the computer.

Lord willing, I’ll get some stuff up this week, but posting will probably be light until after November sets in.

Again, if you read this, pray for me. I’ve been feeling a lot of weight lately, and I think most of it relates to the old “What am I going to do when I graduate?” issue. I graduate in about a year, and I need to start moving in a specific direction. I know the Lord has a plan, and I do trust him. But I also know that he has not called me to sit on my hands until December 2008.

Work, also, has been wearing me out, with the hours and the “grind.” Like another co-worker (who has worked for Starbucks for six years) has said, “You think it’s just coffee. How hard can it be? But it wears you out.” It’s true. I would never have guessed that a coffee shop could be hard, even exhausting, work. For me, though, it has been.

Marriage, however, is great. I love my wife, and spending time with her. (That’s a big reason for tomorrow’s “sabbath”). We had our first fire in our fireplace tonight. These are the kinds of times that I know in 20 years will linger sweetly in my memory. I’m trying to drink them in, and not worry just about reading for school.

Church has been a blessing also. Laura and I have been leading our community group since the beginning of fall, and we’re building some great relationships. I met with Jeff, a guy in our group, last Tuesday, and we are going to spend time together, working through a book. Jeff is a med student at U of L, and completely stoked to learn and grow in the faith. I’m excited to be meeting with him.

Overall, things are good, because God is good.

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, Bless his holy name!

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

