Gospel Amnesia

Dustin preached a great sermon today on the church’s message: the Gospel. The basic thrust was to expose our constant forgetfulness of the Gospel and to provide reasons and ways to prevent such amnesia. You should be able to listen to it here in the next few days.

Personally, I had been realizing lately how many days I can live without the Gospel. I can do my quiet time, read theology online and offline, and read half a dozen chapters of Scripture for class. And never consciously meditate on the Gospel.

I have been aroused recently to a much deeper desire for personal holiness, but sometimes I can focus on my own sanctification to the functional exclusion of the Gospel in my own mind.

That’s bad.

This morning’s sermon reminded me again of my need to place the Gospel at the center of my life. Of course, I say that it is, but in practice often the peripherals of life and theology can become the main thing in my mind.

This week I want to work on establishing some structures to make sure that the Gospel remains the main thing.

Also, if you’ve read this far, please pray for Laura. She tweaked her back tonight, and can hardly move.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Gospel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gospel Amnesia

  1. Pingback: gospel music » <b>Gospel</b> Amnesia

  2. dad says:

    praying for Laura’s back.

    Love,
    Dad

  3. Pingback: gospel music » Comment on <b>Gospel</b> Amnesia by <b>gospel music</b> » <b>Gospel</b> Amnesia

Leave a Reply

