Subscribe!

If you regularly read the old Almanac (i.e. this blog), you should subscribe to the feed by pressing the button on the top right of the side bar. Judging from my daily number of hits, I would guess that a number of readers do not subscribe.

Feeds are an easy way to read blogs (and other internet material), so you should do it.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Subscribe!

  1. Ben says:

    Thanks to the smart design of wordpress, you can also subscribe to comments for a post, or for the whole blog (see the bottom of the page). I personally use Google Reader (http://google.com/reader) to read both Almanac of Captivity’s posts and all their respective comments.

  2. I think your problem is that in your header file it displays that your RSS feed is “https://dannyslavich.wordpress.com/feed/” but the Feedburner link in the sidebar is for your Feedburner feed. If someone adds your domain name into Google Reader (like me) it will search and find your https://dannyslavich.wordpress.com/feed/ feed and subscribe to that. Feedbuner won’t count subscriptions to that feed. So you most likely have more subscribers but they are subscribed to your other feed.

    I’m not sure how you can do it for a WordPress.com blog, but your header template file needs to be edited to display your Feedburner address and then I would suggest asking people to unsubscribe from that feed and make sure they are subscribed to your actual Feedburner feed.

    I have updated mine.

  3. dslavich says:

    Thanks Nath,

    I can’t edit the file without paying WordPress, which I’m not ready to do at this point. Bummer…

  4. Danny, at least you now know why your Feedburner stats may be down a little compared to your stats for visitors etc.

  5. Lee says:

    Did you create a general feed for comments?

  6. Lee says:

    Nevermind – it’s late. I was trying to find Ben’s comment feed…

  7. Lee says:

    (I found and subscribed to your comment feed, Danny.)

Leave a Reply

