Acorns

Acorns, the fruit of the oak,
from its branches, in small
stone-esque fashion they drop
and they roll.

Because gravity grants
them momentum toward valley-
floor living, bottom-dwelling
in fertile darkness.

Many root themselves into the
simple easy rich soil
of the darkness, until
the forest stands in thickness.

But the oak desires his
children, calling
them homeward, back
to the tree of their birthing.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Creative, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Acorns

  1. Ben says:

    Excellent poem. I think I know exactly what you meant, yet it suggests even greater depths with further examination. The tone is vibrant throughout, and the word choice really makes me feel like I am in a forest, watching the process happen.

  2. dslavich says:

    Thanks, Ben.

    This was kind of an experiment on trying to be vague etc. I’m not sure what the point of the poem is, I kind of had an ambiguous idea of the acorns, leaving — going astray — and the oak calling them back.

    I’m working through this whole thing, trying to be a better poet. Whatever that looks like.

  3. Ben says:

    Hm, interesting. Here’s what I got out of it: We are the acorns. God is the tree. If we, like the grain cast on the good soil, take root, we grow back towards God. I thought it was an excellent picture of the redemptive process. Though some of the images were vague, I still felt that the message was perfectly clear (if that was your message), and the vagueness helped with the tone.

  4. Lee says:

    I got a little stuck on the whole fruit/stone motif in the first stanza. Stone fruit, like peaches and nectarines, are so named because of the nature of their seeds/pits. I’m pretty sure your reference was to the way they fall and not an allusion to stone fruit, but both meanings get mixed together for me when I read that stanza.

    The lack of guiding punctuation in the the 2nd line of the 3rd stanza makes me wonder if that was oversight, or obfuscation. The end of the 3rd stanza is a bit of a mystery to me – are you saying they don’t grow until they can’t grow (because the forest starts to crowd out the sun)?

    There’s also the possible play on “stand of trees” and the surface meaning.

    Overall, I agree w/ Ben’s take on the interpretation.

  5. dad says:

    We fall from grace like stones, becoming buried in our sin. Only when we root ourselves into the true vine do we head back toward our original purpose of seeking Him.

    That’s my take…and it can’t be wrong! Why? Because poetry is open to interpretation.

    (Or maybe it’s about something else.)

  6. dslavich says:

    Hmm…

    I think what I was trying to achieve was that idea of falling from grace/original sin and the ease of growing in the soil of the sinful world.

    God then calls his own back to himself.

    The idea of “stone” in the first stanza is just the weight and ease with which the acorns fall. “Stone fruit” would have been a good allusion, but I actually didn’t know that’s what they were called until Lee said so!

    I purposely didn’t punctuate the second line of stanza three, with the idea of “pummeling” the reader with the nature of the soil (see the parable of the sower/seeds, with the shallow soil).

Leave a Reply

