Some Thoughts on Humility

“There can be no proud theologians” said Karl Barth. That assertion, which Dr. Ware told my Fall 2005 Systematic Theology class often resounds in my mind, (in Dr. Ware’s distinctive voice, of course).

I also somehow missed another profound element of humility: God commands us to do it, that is, to humble ourselves. This means, among other things, that humility is action as much as it is a character trait.

A couple of weeks ago I told my accountability partner that I needed to think of some practical ways to humble myself.

Ok, so all those things combined tonight while I read from Carl F.H. Henry’s theological method in God, Revelation, and Authority. After hearing people talk of how difficult Henry is to read, and taking in such massive thoughts, I found myself growing horribly arrogant while reading.

When I realized it, I prayed for God to humble me. I heard Barth speaking in Dr. Ware’s voice. The command to humble myself came to mind. And I wondered how to do it.

I thought about the stuff I was reading — basically, God revealed himself, and thereby formed the basis of all knowledge and truth. How profoundly humbling, if read with a Spirit-softened heart.

So, I tried to humble myself — to think on the fact that God has shown himself, and we can know him, and know him truly, and not doubt what he has told us; praying that the Spirit would use the things I learn to humble me, and help me humble myself.

God providences things in amazing ways, and I continually thank him for his work in my life.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Humility. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

