A Personal Note on the Confession

I have been a Southern Baptist for almost exactly two years, having come from a biblically solid believer-baptizing church and being brought up into Reformed theology. When I came to SBTS, I came because it was the best non-baby-baptizing seminary in the country. If SBTS did not exist, I would be at Westminster in San Diego.

I thank God I came here (and not just because I met the girl of my dreams in Founders’ Cafe).

One thing my home church did not have was a distinct and traceable theological heritage. So, I have grown to appreciate the rich theological heritage of the Southern Baptist tradition, and the tradition of Baptists in general. Before I was a “baptist”, but in a somewhat weak sense. Now I am a Baptist, and will remain a Baptist — by conviction.

That is why I want to blog through the Second London Confession. It is the most important Baptist confession ever written, and discovering and saturating myself in the ancestry of the faith I have been somewhat “adopted” into has become important to me.

There are lots of places to find out a lot about this confession and others, and confessions in general.

Anyone reading this can Google it, and find more than I could ever hope to write on the subject.

This project of blogging through the confession is a personal thing, and, mostly, blogging through it provides me an external structure so that I will actually do it.

So, next week, I will look at Chapter One.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Second London Confession. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

