Blogging through the Second London Confession

For History of the Baptists I’ve been reading through the Second London Confession (1689) (the link I provided is to one of many available on the web). It is the most important Baptist confession, being based off the Westminster Confession and itself the basis of later Baptist confessions. As I’ve been reading through it, I have felt and comprehended some of the weight of the truth contained in it.

Consider this section, the first section of chapter two, “Of God and of the Holy Trinity”:

The Lord our God is but one only living and true God; whose subsistence is in and of himself, infinite in being and perfection; whose essence cannot be comprehended by any but himself; a most pure spirit, invisible, without body, parts, or passions, who only hath immortality, dwelling in the light which no man can approach unto; who is immutable, immense, eternal, incomprehensible, almighty, every way infinite, most holy, most wise, most free, most absolute; working all things according to the counsel of his own immutable and most righteous will for his own glory; most loving, gracious, merciful, long-suffering, abundant in goodness and truth, forgiving iniquity, transgression, and sin; the rewarder of them that diligently seek him, and withal most just and terrible in his judgments, hating all sin, and who will by no means clear the guilty.

Because of the amount of reading I have every week, I easily breeze through the list of these attributes. I would love to camp out in this confession, but time just doesn’t allow it. So, I want to use this blog to help me. I’m going to blog through this confession. Now, there are 32 chapters, some much longer than others. There are a total of 160 sections. The chapters range in the number of sections from 1 (chapter 12) to 15 (chapter 26). The average number of sections per chapter is 5. To blog through the whole confession in a year, I would have to average 3-plus sections a week.

I think that’s doable.

I plan to start next Thursday with a discussion of confessions generally, and the Second London Confession proper, delving into the first chapter the following Thursday. Each week I will link to that week’s section of the confession.

I’m inviting you to join me, and read and learn this confession along with me.

I pray that the Spirit will bless it, and make it a fruitful intellectual, spiritual, Christ-forming, and Christ-glorifying experience.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Second London Confession, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

