The Secret Diary of D.A. Carson

I’m not sure what to think of this site.

Apparently the TEDS administration (and possible D.A. Carson himself) are pretty ticked about it.
As a seminary student, who has seen some parts of the evangelical “academic” subculture, I laughed out loud at a lot of these posts. It seems like a lot of the readers are seminary students, who would “get” the jokes.

The question I would ask is: Does it meet the requirements of Ephesians 4:29?

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

Now, I don’t know that this blog has hurt anyone. It’s meant to be a joke. But has it given its readers “grace”. The editors of the site have written a long post about the purpose of the site, etc.

Maybe this blog could help a lot of overly serious and arrogant seminary students take themselves a little less seriously. Man, I know so many people (too often, myself included) who take themselves way too seriously. We really do think that we will be (or at least we want to be) they next D.A. Carson, or John Piper, or Al Mohler.

Maybe, in that way, those who read this blog are given grace.

I’m pretty sure that in some cases this blog has crossed lines (as in the overt and, I think, ungodly criticisms of Paige Patterson).

But I also think that it might help some seminary students (as it has helped me) look at themselves more realistically, and, thereby, to look away from themselves (and even such great men as D.A. Carson) — and to look to Jesus.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Secret Diary of D.A. Carson

  1. Ben says:

    That site is hilarious. I don’t think any of us are going to defend George W. when Saturday Night Live makes him look like an idiot … if it’s ok to make fun of the president, it’s definitely ok to make fun of a seminary professor. And the Apostle Paul himself wasn’t exactly above incisive humor from time to time … though I don’t imagine Carson, Piper, or even Patterson are overtly damaging the kingdom of God, it might be a good reminder not to set anyone up on such a high pedestal that they are above a little bit of satire.

  2. dslavich says:

    I agree with you Ben.
    (Except for your various heresies).

    Seriously, though, I think you’re right in saying it serves its purpose as “a good reminder not to set anyone up on such a high pedestal”…

  3. Lee says:

    So what purpose is there in showing Dr. Patterson with a zebra he has apparently just killed as one of the banner pictures on his web site? I don’t get that. Even putting the most generous spin on that picture (he’s part of a wildlife conservation society dedicated to the eradication of zebra ear mites, and that rifle is really a tranquilizer gun), it sure looks like he’s just felled a trophy zebra… what possible reason could he have for displaying that on his official web site other than his own glory? Confusing, at best.

  4. Ben says:

    Yeah, on Wikipedia it says he is one of the founding members of the NRA and an avid trophy hunter. I guess that’s the way they roll in the SBC … it’s not so much that you’ve got all your ducks in a row … you just need to be REALLY conservative … ? Then again, it is his personal homepage. Even if I was a giant of spiritual leadership, you can bet my homepage would have a picture of me with the Custom Shop Les Paul that I bought with my book royalties.

  5. Lee says:

    Aww, I thought you set yourself up so beautifully there, Ben – and you didn’t take advantage of it! “it’s not so much that you’ve got all your ducks in a row … you have to be able hit each one with a bird gun at 100 paces!” 😉

  6. Pingback: D.A. Carson’s Diary is Dying « Almanac of Captivity

Leave a Reply

