Presuppositions for Blogging (and Writing)

Well, here I am, another Tuesday and having to think of another list to write. I’m sure you could go here and find a better list, but here’s mine for this week:

My Presuppositions for Blogging and Writing.

Dr. Wright starts out his church history classes with his “13 Presuppositions for studying church history.” That kind of got my mind on this track. These are not clear-cut categories, and many interdependently inform each other. The list moves from general to specific — from things every Christian (should) believe to things writing Christians (at least this one) believe.

1. God is sovereign. God controls everything, at all times and places, in every way, shape, and form. This truth opens itself like an umbrella and encompasses my whole world-view, blogging and writing included. God controls and has a purpose for the content, context, writer and reader of this blog and every blog. And everything that anyone has ever written.

2. Everything should be done for God’s glory. God controls everything, and he uses it to his glory, for his purposes. But many times, that’s because he’s God, not because a particular person intended it. For me, however, as a Christian writer/blogger/_____ (insert anything: husband, barista, student), I aim, primarily, to bring glory and honor to my sovereign Father in heaven.

3. Truth is absolute. Conservative Christians can sometimes throw this one around like a baseball, turning it into merely a buzzword of the subculture. I’m not going to write a mediocre rant against “post-modernism” here. That said — we must know and assume the absoluteness of Truth. Truth does not change. Like the first two , this is not unique to Christian blogging or writing. And that makes it all the more fundamentally important for Christian blogging and writing.

4. Speaking and writing are the two main ways to communicate. Here my presuppositions are beginning to funnel down toward those specific to “blogging and writing”. We can communicate in (mainly) two ways — we can talk and we can write. For a “Presuppositions for Preaching” list, I would walk a slightly different path from this point, but, for now, I’m talking about writing.

5. Contexts are not absolute. As a Christian, I stand on the first three assumptions as my stone-hard foundation. I also realize that to communicate I must speak or I must write. Like I’ve just said, I’m focused here on writing, and when I want to write I must realize that effective communication accounts for differences in times and places and people. In the 21st century, people are much more likely to read a 600 word blog post (or a series of them), than a 60 page printed pamphlet. People use their computers more than they use books. That founds, for me, blogging as a “contextual communicative discipline.”

6. Writing is worth doing, even if it is not widely disseminated (i.e. read). This is what I mean here — currently I average about 60-70 visits per day on this blog (which is better than I expected for the first couple of months).  Still, 60-70 people a day isn’t exactly exerting a wide influence. My assumption is that writing/blogging has value, even if lots of people don’t read it. The main reason for this is faithfulness to God and writing in a way that honors him. I also assume that writing, as writing is worth doing. These next two will build on this assumption.

7. Writing helps thinking (and vice versa). Calvin at one point said, quoting Augustine, “I count myself one of the number of those who write as they learn and learn as they write.” Many times, I have clarified my own thoughts by writing. Writing helps me learn, and it helps me think. Writing is valuable, despite a lack of readership.

8. Creativity is valuable. Here I speak of creative writing specifically. I believe that God in his grace did not vanquish the “image of God” when Adam sinned. It is marred, but not absent. I believe that creative writing can and does glorify God, even though it may not be “theology”. You can read more about this point here.

So, there it is, my framework for why I write.

I pray that God will continually purify my motives, so that I desire his glory above all things. May he use it as he please.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Presuppositions for Blogging (and Writing)

  1. Pingback: Blog Roundup for 9/15/2007 | Said At Southern Seminary

Leave a Reply

