Pina Colada Memories

Memories dance of the edges
of her mind,
leaping into focus with each
old place and turn, a past
sweetness rekindled.

“This is where we used to look
for manatees…”
“We would ride the trolley
all over the island…”

Old and new have collided
on this island,
because “we” are new,
and so is so much with us.
But “here” is old,
and my bride exclaims things like,
“Oh, and I used to drink virgin
pina coladas by the pool…”

So, while we were soaking the sun, I fibbed,
when I told her I needed to use
the restroom. Then I brought,
to our poolside chairs, where we were
facing the harbor,
a (virgin) pina colada,
sweet with the memories that
she drinks and
we make for the first time.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Creative, Literary, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pina Colada Memories

  1. Laura Slavich says:

    I loved sharing and making those memories with you. Thank you for the sweet reminder in your poetry.

Leave a Reply

