When I’m a Minority

I’m sitting here, in a local coffee shop, studying. Christians are everywhere.  I remember reading in the local (and liberal) paper an article about “those students reading their Bibles in the Frankfort Ave. coffee shops.”I used to be one, every day, studying and hanging out with friends. I’m sure that the local, unbelieving crowd made jokes about us.

Man, we (seminarians and Christians) are everywhere, for like a 5 mile radius around Southern.

In Louisville, seminarians and Christians generally permeate the good coffee shops (and, really, the bad ones too).

In Louisville, seminarians saturate the good churches.

In Louisville, in certain contexts (but not all, of course) I’m in the majority. It’s not a bad thing. It’s good to see in some ways, the redemption of culture in certain ways, the infiltration of the kingdom into darkness.

But it won’t always be this way, and I want to be ready — to again be a minority.

About Danny Slavich

I am a Christian husband, father, pastor, and poet. I lead Pembroke Road Baptist Church a multi-cultural, multi-generational church in urban South Florida.
This entry was posted in Church, Coffee, Community, Louisville. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

